Friday’s Uncensored Jukebox

Ed Bott has published a pre-holiday Random 10 and a new Uncensored Jukebox Challenge.  Ed reports that it is Judy’s birthday so this seems like a great way to wish Judy happy birthday.

In celebration of all things romantic, tomorrow, the Saturday of U.S. Memorial Day weekend 2008 is the 13th anniversary of my meeting Vicki in a parking lot and asking her to coffee.  We will go out to coffee again.  Our 13th wedding anniversary will be this New Years Eve.

  1. Elton John: Believe.  Love Songs.  Amazon MP3.
      
  2. Edvard Grieg: Anitra’s Dance.  Peer Gynt Suite.  101 Great Orchestral Classics, The Slovak State Philharmonic.  MSN Music (DRM doomed to be non-transferable any day now)
      
  3. Bob Marley & The Wailers: Waiting in Vain.  Songs of Freedom.  MSN Music (DRM doomed to be non-transferable, so this is an appropriate album for a selection and I guess you could say I have an attitude about this … definitely)
       
  4. James Galway: Un-break my Heart.  Crazy .  MSN Music.  Hmm, didn’t even know I had this weird album of flute with swing orchestra.  I have no idea what selection on the album inspired this purchase.  I’ll have to play it through and see.
      
  5. Kimmie Rhodes.  Windblown.  Windblown.  Windows Media Center Sample Music
      
    J Allard of Microsoft on the Launch of Zune (pod cast)
      
  6. Edvard Grieg: Solveig’s Song.  101 Great Orchestral Classics, Czecho-Slovak State Philharmonic Orchestra.  MSN Music
      
  7. Elton John: Sorry Seems to be the Hardest Word.  Rocket Man: Number Ones.  Amazon MP3.
       
  8. James Taylor: Steamroller Blues (live).  One Man Band.  Amazon MP3.
       
  9. Ozamati: After Party.  The Heartbreak Kid: Music from the Motion Picture.  Amazon MP3.  I’m not sure what led me to this either, unless it was the two David Bowie tracks (though Tales of the Horny Frog might be the subliminal appeal)
       
  10. Marc Broussard: The Beauty of Who You Are.  Carencro [full length version].  MSN Music.  Time to listen to this one all the way through too.  You know, before I have no machine that it can be transferred onto.  DRM thing, you know …
      
    Will it go to 11?  Let’s see:
      
  11. Marvin Gaye: How Sweet It Is (to be Loved by You).  Every Great Motown Hit of Marvin Gaye.  MSN Music (dang!  Well, transfers onto Plays-for-Sure devices seem to work without counting against the number of machine registrations.  I wonder if that’s just an illusion ….)
       
    Wow!  Bonus Track for Ed Bott and Judy:
      
  12. Acoustic Alchemy.  Santa Cafe.  The New Edge.  MSN Music (geez, I’ll miss you guys)
      
    Well, uh, I thought the title was Santa Fe when I first looked.  Then I guess it would be for Ottmar too, huh?

I’m liking this.  I think I’ll stop logging and just listen. Let’s make it a mellow and cool overcast evening in Seattle.  Cripes, George Michael duet with Elton John, … mellowing out for sure …

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

